HP webcam is racist…?

While doing my rounds, this story on Wired caught my attention.. “HP investigates claim of ‘racist’ computers.”  At first I was going to post this as an, ohmygod the PR team has a tough situation on their hands, better have that crisis management manual handy… and actually believe that it was a real claim.  But, then, I started to think….. this video looks suspiciously intentional.

Here is the story: “Black Desi” and his co-worker “White Wanda” are playing with their new HP computer.  Now, Desi is having an issue with the camera, it does not recognize his movements.  Why are his movements not recognized, because he is black.  Every time his co-worker Wanda (who is white) comes into frame, the camera follows her movements.  But, the moment Desi appears, the software stops working.  The camera refuses to follow his movements.  Desi is furious!  He bought this computer for his wife for Christmas!  He is going to come right out and say it, “Hewlett-Packard computers are racist.”

Why… in the world HP would do this…?  I have no idea, that is the only flaw in the possible, this might be an ad, part of my thoughts.  This is a PR firestorm, no company would intentionally influence an entire race to not buy their products, right?  It seems like no company would be that stupid.  But, I now know what the product is, I know how it works, I know who makes it and I know how to use it.  At the same time, I am appalled that it does not work on black faces.

I’ll come out and say it right here, I believe this might be a desperate advertising attempt from HP.  But, it would be rather unwise if it really is that.

I’ve done quite a bit of research on this topic since initially viewing the video, as far as I can tell, no one else has come to my conclusion, so it is possible that I am incorrect.  Like I said, it would be a terrible public relations move.

Read more about “HP computers are racist” at these sources:

Youtube: The actual video.

mashable.com: An interview with the creators of the video.

HP: An open letter to the public about the matter.

Do you have any thoughts on this video?  Am I completely off the handle to accuse them of a media ploy?  I might be… I’ve been wrong before… certain things about the video just seem suspect to me.  But, the fact that this is just terrible for their PR leads me to believe I am wrong.  Tell me what you think.  I would love to hear from you.

Be sure to follow us on Twitter for the latest updates.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment